Results 2017-2018 Season

AC 4-9 Championship Singles

Winner: Peter Buchanan (Carlton)
Runner up : Marion Taylor (Warkworth)

Click here for the photos.

GC Gold and Silver Stars

Held at North Shore Croquet Club on 17th February. The clear winner of the tournament was Phil Robbins (Point Chev 6) with 5 wins, the clear Runner up was Ronnie Richardson (Takapuna 7) with 4 wins.

GC Junior Handicap Singles

Having been postponed by the September storms, ten players competed in the Croquet Auckland's Golf Croquet Junior Handicap Singles on Saturday 9 December 2017 at Pt Chevalier. The final turned out to be an all Warkworth affair, with Brian Morrison beating fellow player Vanessa Morrison

Click here for the photos.

Arthur Ross Area Final

The area final was held at Warkworth Croquet Club on the 2nd/3rd December. Five club representatives played in the Auckland area final.

It was a wonderful sunny weekend with some exciting and close games. The winner, who won all his 4 games was Robert Lowe (-3.5) representing Takapuna CC. He will play the National final in Morrinsville in March. The runner-up was Frank Robinson (-3) Epsom/Remuera. Click here for the photos.

GC Grade Championships

Thanks to Precille Harrison for this report:-

The Premier and Senior Grades Championship were played at Pakuranga Croquet Club on the weekend of the 18th and 19th. The Winner of the Premier was Vincent Commarieu of Epsom/Rem with 7 out of 8 games played and Runner Up was Kurt Warn of Pakuranga with 5 out of 8 games played.

In the Senior Grade Bill Morrison of Warkworth was the Winner with 7 out of 8 games played and Sally Cole of Carlton Runner up with 5 out of 8 games played.

Saturday started out being rather cold but not much wind but as the day progressed it got warmer and windier. We had several spectators who were impressed with the level of play. However Sunday proved to be disappointing with heavy rain over night 3 of the lawns had large puddles of water so play for the Seniors had to be cancelled. With one lawn remaining the premiers were able to finish their remaining games.

Congratulations to the winners and a big thank you for all those who participated.

The Intermediate section was held at St Heliers. Thanks to Maureen Duffield for this report:-

Looking out from my bedroom window early this morning I thought what a horrible day, and it did start off wet but the lawns were good so the games were able to go ahead and it did clear up into a lovely day. We had some very exciting games and our Congratulation to Steve Field, St Heliers Bay CC with 4 wins and a net 10, and to runner up Anne Griffin, Mt Albert CC, also with 4 wins and a net 3. Congratulations to Steve who is now down a 5 handicap and to Jillian Railey who is now down to a 6.

GC Interclub Results

The Junior Section was won by Carlton, with Warkworth runner up.

Warkworth retained the Senior GC Inter club Trophy.

The final of the GC Inter club was played between North Shore & Warkworth at Carlton Croquet on tuesday 27th December. Warkworth Croquet Club retained the shield winning 10 - 2

The Warkworth Team was Marion Taylor (2) Captain, Nelson Morrow (-2), Brian Morrison (6) and Vanessa Morrison (8).

North Island GC Championship Results

Auckland players featured in the finals of this event, recently held at Howick Croquet Club.

Josh Freeth was runner up in the Singles and Nelson Morrow won the doubles with John Christie (Thames Valley).

Centennial cup 2017

The final of the Centennial Cup (the handicap doubles finalists from Auckland clubs) was played at Warkworth Club on saturday 28th October. Auckland Association President Anne Murphy presented the Centennial Cup to the winners Robert Lowe and Pam Knight representing Takapuna Croquet Club. Runners up were Nelson Morrow and Marion Taylor from Warkworth Croquet Club. Click here for the photos.

Auckland v Northland Match

Auckland wins back the Shield.

21 players headed north to Whangarei and Kensington Croquet Clubs on the 17th October to contest the annual Auckland V Northland match. Northland had won it for the first time last year and Auckland was determined to regain the Shield.

The GC match at Whangarei Club was a close fought match with a result of 16 all but Northland winning by one hoop on hoops made. The AC match at Kensington Club went Auckland's way, winning 10 - 2.

Jean Jaffa, Northland Captain presented the Shield to Auckland's Captain Nelson Morrow. Auckland win host the 2018 event. Click here for the photos.

AC North Island Champs. 11th - 15th October.

The North Island AC Championships were held this month at Mount Maunganui Croquet Club. Auckland players were well represented in the prize giving.

Josh Freeth won the Open event, with Nelson Morrow 3rd. Kathy Grant won the 0-3 section.

Auckland Open: 7/8th October, 2017

The report for the event from manager Nelson Morrow

We had a record entry for the Auckland AC Open. 19 entries of which we could only take the top 16. I had originally intended to run this in two divisions but it was pointed out that this is an open event and should not be run that way.

I reconsidered this and agreed that this is the way it should be organised. The saturday was played as four seeded blocks, with winners and runner ups going into a 3 round knockout, playing for positions 1 to 8. The other 8 players would play in two blocks , one for the players 3rd in their block and one for those 4th in their block.

The best laid plans don't always work with Auckland weather. We arrived at Carlton Club on sunday morning to find the lawns flooded. A quick rethink and the offer of lawns at Epsom/Remuera Club meant we decamped around the corner. With it still raining and the forecast looking far from hopeful, I decided to reduce the event to 2 games. I proposed a knockout for the winners, the runners up, the 3rds and the 4ths.

The winners of each of saturday's blocks were: Robert Lowe (Auckland), Steve Jones (Hawkes Bay), Mike Crashley (BOP) and Nelson Morrow (Auckland). Robert beat Nelson and Steve beat Mike in the semis, which set up a final of the top two seeds. It was now lunchtime the the rain was still failing, so many of the players decided to call it a day, but a few hardy souls decided to play some swiss games.

The final started about 12.45 with the lawn draining enough to make it playable.The match started very tentatively with both players playing cat and mouse. Steve eventually got a ball to 4 back and then Robert hitting the lift but unfortunately sticking in 3 back. This virtually gave Steve the game (26 - 8 ) as his other clip was on 4.

A small group enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea, ferried from the Carlton club, while the prizes were awarded. Click here for the photos.

GC Senior Handicap Singles

The ACA GC Senior Handicap Singles was played at Pt Chevalier on Saturday 30 September. Although storms were threatened, the eight players manage to dodge the showers and complete the tournament in high spirits.

Winner: Tony Sullivan (St Heliers) won 6 out of 7 games
The Runner up was decided on a count back, being awarded to Pauline Budgen (Mt Albert) after Pauline Budgen (Mt Albert), Susan McKessar (Pt Chevalier), Sally Cole (Carlton), Anne Griffin (Mt Albert) all won four games. Click here for the photos.

The Junior event, due to be played on Sunday 1 October, which had 12 entrants, had to be postponed due to stormy weather. We hope to reschedule this event for later in the season.

Opening Day

The official opening day was a bit of a fizzer as it was rained out. It had rained all night and was still raining so it was decided that there would be no play on the greens. Opening Day occurred without a ball being hit nor a hoop being run. It is time for a change of weather and a drying out of the lawns. Everyone is hoping for a change soon.